Return to the Forum homepage


Harrow School, Middlesex

Harrow School is a public school for boys in Harrow on the Hill, Middlesex, Greater London. The school was founded in 1572 by John Lyon, a local landowner and farmer, under a Royal Charter of Queen Elizabeth I. Its list of distinguished alumni includes seven former British Prime Ministers, many members of both Houses of the Parliament, Nobel Prize winners and many prominent figures in the arts and sciences.

Members of the English Rothschild family attended Harrow and endowed the School with scholarships and prizes. Harrow school photographs featuring mermbers of the family as pupils at Harrow in the famous Harrow uniform of morning suits, straw boater hats, top hats and canes will be found in a number of the Named Collections.

Harrow School: 'Evelyn de Rothschild Award', correspondence and papers, [1918-1919]; 2018

000/2501, 1 folder

Folder of correspondence (March 2018) between Richard Tregoning and Sir Evelyn de Rothschild concerning the Evelyn de Rothschild Award, Harrow School. The scholarship was originally established at Harrow in 1918 in memory of old Harrovian Evelyn Achille de Rothschild (1886-1917) who died whilst on active service in the First World War. The award was established "in order to encourage among the boys at Harrow School a due appreciation of the qualities of devotion to duty, truthfulness, unselfishness, loyalty and consideration of others". The 1918 deed of the award states that the final decision about the recipient of the award was made by a Tribunal of 11 School Monitors; the Headmaster and Governors had no powers to change the boys' decision. The scholarship was endowed with £15,000 in 1917. In 1997, Harrow School amalgamated the award with a number of others into the Harrow Awards Scheme; it no longer exists as a separate award. Richard Tregoning was a recipient of the award in 1966, and the folder contains a transcript (provided by Harrow School) of the original award deed, dated 18 April 1918 made between Anthony Gustav de Rothschild (Evelyn's brother) and the School Governors, and an extract from The Harrovian, 1 March 1919 announcing the first winner and how it was awarded, together with other copy papers.

Original papers, 1917-1955, relating to the Award, including a copy of the Deed of Foundation, Scheme for the Foundation, a prospectus of Harrow school of 1918, acknowledgement from the Chairman of the Governors of Harrow School for the receipt of the sum of £5000 bequeathed by Evelyn Achille and correspondence between Anthony de Rothschild and the Headmaster of Harrow School and the Committee of the Scholarship on the conditions and administration of the scholarship  will be found in Partners' Room, Special Correspondence of Anthony de Rothschild, file XI/35/6 and XI/35/159.