Return to the Forum homepage


The League of British Jews

One week after the Balfour declaration was issued on 2 November 1917 from the United Kingdom's Foreign Secretary Arthur James Balfour to (Lionel) Walter 2nd Lord Rothschild, Lionel de Rothschild (1882-1942), Sir Philip Magnus and Lord Swaythling founded the League of British Jews to oppose the idea that Jews constituted a political nation. Lucien Wolf and Claude Goldsmid-Montefiore were prominent ideologues while Laurie Magnus edited its newspaper, the Jewish Guardian, which appeared from October 1919 to 1931. Magnus made the Jewish Guardian into a widely-respected Jewish journal during the 1920s, mixing articles that criticised Zionist and Jewish nationalists with articles from a variety of communal worthies and, to demonstrate its reach, provided the best coverage of Jewish-friendly societies.

The League of British Jews, reports, 1927

000/1251/1, 1 item

The League of British Jews: Report of Proceedings at Annual Meeting held at 38, Fitzroy Square London W.1, on Wednesday 18 May 1927, Lionel de Rothschild, President, in the Chair. [Lionel de Rothschild, (1882-1942)]. Further papers concerning the League of British Jews, will be found in the Secretary’s Department, Secretariat Files, 1 series.