Return to the Forum homepage


Chairman's Office

The first non-Rothschild partner was appointed in 1960 and ten years later in 1970, the bank was incorporated as a limited liability company -  N M Rothschild & Sons Limited, relinquishing its private partnership status. From this date, the head of the London business became known as the Chairman (effectively Chairman of the Board of Directors) of N M Rothschild & Sons.

Edmund de Rothschild (1916-2009) assumed the title of the first Chairman. In 1976, Victor, 3rd Lord Rothschild (1910-1990) briefly became Chairman of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited, succeeding Edmund who retired after 28 years of service with the family firm. Victor was succeeded as Chairman in 1976 by Evelyn (later Sir Evelyn) de Rothschild (1931-2022), who led the bank into new markets and territories. 

The English and French businesses unite

Following nationalisation of the French Rothschild business in 1982, David de Rothschild (b.1942), Nathaniel de Rothschild (b.1946) and Eric de Rothschild (b.1940) had established a new banking and finance operation, and David had joined the board of the London bank of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited as Deputy Chairman. In 2003, after 44 years with the family firm, Sir Evelyn de Rothschild stepped down as Chairman of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited. The appointment of David de Rothschild as his successor as the Rothschild Group Chairman brought together again the English and French Rothschild business houses, with the merger of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited with Paris Orléans (originally founded in 1838 as a railway company, after the Second World War, the French branch of the Rothschild family transformed it into a holding company for its banking activities).

The Rothschild Group

In 2012, Baron David de Rothschild brought together the French Rothschild business and N M Rothschild & Sons Limited together as the Rothschild Group under the Paris Orléans parent group.

Rothschild & Co.

In 2015, Paris Orléans, changed its name to Rothschild & Co. to match the trading name of the business. In 2018, Alexandre de Rothschild (b.1980) succeeded David de Rothschild as Executive Chairman. 

The Rothschild Archive holds very few papers of Chairmen and Directors of the business; most records described here are published secondary sources. For papers relating to Senior Partners of N M Rothschild before 1970, (including Mr Edmund de Rothschild, who served both as Senior Partner and then the first Chairman), see Partners' Room.